Wild Side
Sébastien Lifshitz
France/Belgium/UK 2004, 35mm, color, 94 min., OV w/German and French ST

LVT Manfred Salzgeber Award „Bester Spielfilm“ – Int. Filmfestspiele Berlin 2004
Teddy Award „Bester Spielfilm“ – Int. Filmfestspiele Berlin 2004
Best New Director – Seattle Intl. Film Festival 2004
Grand Jury Award – Outfest Los Angeles LGBTI Film Festival 2004

Some 15 years ago Stéphanie – then still a teenager called Pierre – fled to the big city in search of herself and happiness. She has found both and shares her life with her lovers Mikhail, an illegal Russian immigrant and former soldier, and Jamel, a French Arab who sometimes turns tricks to make ends meet. They form a very unique kind of family and comfort each other in the busy and sometimes tough metropolitan life. Unexpectedly Stéphanie is called back to the North of France as her mother is dying. Accompanied by Mikhail (and in time Jamel), her return to the beautiful but quiet and empty countryside prompts a flood of memories, some happy, others painful, of her childhood as a boy.

Sébastien Lifshitz
was born in 1968 in Neuilly-sur-Seine. After studying history in Paris, he worked as an assistant to photographer Suzanne Lafont and director Claire Denis, whom he portrayed in his 1996 documentary Claire Denis la Vagabonde. For Les Corps ouverts (1997), his first medium-length feature film, he was awarded the prestigious Prix Jean Vigo. After the TV film Les Terres froides (1999) he directed his first feature-length film Prèsque rien (2000). The film became a great success with cinema audiences. La Traversée, a docu-drama on a young man’s search for his long-lost father, was presented at the Cannes Film Festival in 2002. Wild Side is Lifshitz‘ third feature film.

06/15 8:00 PM / Metro Kino Historischer Saal

Sébastien Lifshitz

Written by: Sébastien Lifshitz, Stephane Bouquet.
Director of Photography: Agnès Godard.
Edited by: Stéphanie Mahet.
Sound: Yolande Decarsin.
Music: Jocelyn Pook.
Art Direction: Roseanna Sacco-Colas.
With: Stéphanie Michelini, Edouard Nikitine, Yasmine Belmadi, Josiane Stoleru.